Reading…

I’ve been working with a web design company for my personal website, and I was given the task yesterday of finding a quote that could go on the site.  I found one I liked by Ray Bradbury, coincidentally one I had read and studied before in school.  While on my search though, I did come across this quote from Stephen King. 

It’s hard for me to believe that people who read very little – or not at all in some cases – should presume to write and expect people to like what they have written. Can I be blunt on this subject? If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time – or the tools – to write. Simple as that.
-Stephen King

I was blown away.  I couldn’t agree with that more.  I’ve always told everyone that my desire to write has come from all of the books I have read.  The hundreds and hundreds over time.  I once met a suppoused writer who told me he didn’t enjoy reading, he didn’t have time for it.  Needless to say it was evident in his writing.  Reading is our fuel.  It’s what sparks that inspiration, that idea we must put down on paper.  I long for my favorite authors to put out new books, and still go searching the bookstores for new authors when they’re not.  I enjoy reading, I could say, even more than writing.  To me reading is extremely important.

It’s the reason writers write, to be read.

5 thoughts on “Reading…

  1. Hi Leo,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Reading is as important to me too, and more often than not it is far more enjoyable than writing! I can’t imagine a life without books…

    You have a great blog, I’ll look forward to coming back.

    Sue 🙂

  2. leo2all says:

    Thank you for stopping by…

    Looking forward to hearing more from you.

  3. Sharon J says:

    Hear, hear!

    A world without books would be unbearable. I have about 50 on my TBR shelf at the moment but still buy them faster than I can read them. As you’ve read on my blog, I’m a slow reader and just wish I could whizz through them because there are so many books just crying out to be read.

    And I agree, nobody can possibly write well unless they read. The two belong together.

  4. I love to read and for that reason I always carry 2 books in my handbag. One that I am reading and another just in case I get stuck somewhere and finish the other one. That’s what it’s all about. Writing and reading – you can’t break the two.
    Cx

  5. […] What would life be like without good friends? I mean the lists gets a little longer each post, (books, family love, (good vibes with your spouse, and now good friends) but in reality our friends are our lifeline to the sane world. Sometimes we’re so caught up in ourselves, our children, our relationships, that the only time we have to talk about other mundane topics is with friends. (Although most of the time we just end up talking about our own problems.) We all know it’s the truth. Our friends are the ones that understand us, when we feel the world is against us. They are the ones to sympathize and even agree, when even we know we’re wrong. And they are the ones to be truly honest, when we need that honesty the most. So with that said… […]

Leave a Reply

